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After reading the Bahamut entry in Deities and Demigods, 
I would love to make a cleric of Bahamut. Does the rule 
that a cleric of a deity must have the same race as the 
deity apply to Bahamut? Can I have a human cleric of the 
platinum dragon? Bahamut’s Clergy and Temples section 
mentions dragons, half-dragons, and “other beings” 
among Bahamut’s clergy. Does “other beings” include 
humans? 
 The Clergy and Temples entries in Deities and Demigods 
serve the same purpose as the Typical Worshipers entries in 
the Player’s Handbook. As long as the description doesn’t 
specify a particular race, anyone can be a cleric of the deity. 
For example, Bahamut accepts clerics of any race because it 
mentions “other beings,” but Kurtulmak accepts only 
kobolds. 
 
 Does the always maximize roll ability of greater deities 
mean that these beings always receive a natural 20 on 
every attack and saving throw roll? If so, doesn’t that 
mean that a greater deity will always hit on an attack, will 
always threaten a critical hit, and will always make its 
saving throw? If this is the case, why doesn’t Deities and 
Demigods specifically state under the entry for each 
individual greater deity that the deity always hits, always 
threatens a critical hit, and always makes its save, much 
as these entries say that the deity always deals a certain 
amount damage on a successful attack due to its 
maximize roll ability? 
 Deities and Demigods does not say greater deities always 
hit, always threaten a critical hit, and always make their 
saving throws because they don’t always hit, don’t always 
threaten a critical hit, and don’t always make their saving 
throws. The description of the always maximize roll ability 
on page 26 of Deities and Demigods tells you to roll a die 
when a deity attacks. The die roll must indicate a threat 
before the deity can deal a critical hit. (No matter what that 
die roll is, you still use a value of 20 for the value of the die 
roll when determining what Armor Class the attack hits.) 
Note that the deity also maximizes its confirmation roll when 
it achieves a threat, so it is virtually assured of confirming the 
critical hit. In the very rare case that a maximized attack roll 
would not be sufficient for a hit, the deity still hits if he or 
she rolls a natural 20 for his attack roll. As Deities and 
Demigods notes in the section on attacks on page 26, no deity 
automatically misses on a roll of a natural 1, so a greater 
deity does not automatically miss if he or she rolls a natural 1 
on his or her attack roll. 
 Likewise, a greater deity does not get a natural 20 and an 
automatic success on any saving throw, but it is never at risk 
of automatically failing on a roll of a natural 1. As with 
attacks, if a die result of 20 is not sufficient for a successful 
saving throw, a greater deity still has a chance to roll a die 
and automatically succeed with a natural 20. 
 
 If I’m making my own deities, how do I determine what 
ability scores, Hit Dice, skills, feats, domains, portfolios, 
and salient abilities each deity should receive? 
 You can determine these mostly by assigning them, just as 
you would with any other new creature or NPC. 
 Deities receive skills and feats according to their outsider 
Hit Dice and class levels, just as a monster with a class does. 

Most of the deities in Deities and Demigods started out as 13-
HD outsiders; the designers used the titan from the Monster 
Manual as a starting point and worked from there. 
 Domains, portfolios, and salient abilities, along with the 
methods for assigning them, are discussed in Chapter 2 of 
Deities and Demigods. 
 All the deities in Deities and Demigods have a standard 
array of ability scores (similar to the standard array for NPCs 
in Chapter 2 of the DUNGEON MASTER’s Guide). The standard 
array is 35, 28, 25, 24, 24, 24. To this standard divine array, 
the Deities and Demigods designers added +1 for every 4 
class levels a deity had and +1 for every point of divine rank. 
Certain deities also received racial ability adjustments for the 
races they created or rule over. For example, Corellon 
Larethian received elf racial adjustments. 
 All the deities in the book have ability scores generated 
this way, including the ones that are (or are reputed to be) 
ascended mortals. If you include divine ascension in your 
game and you want to use the standard divine array, you can 
require these scores before ascension (the Epic Level 
Handbook offers some ideas and information on how 
characters can acquire these high scores), or you can just give 
the characters the scores as a benefit of ascension. Of course, 
there’s no reason for you to give your deities any ability 
scores except the ones you think they should have. 
 
 Page 29 in Deities and Demigods says a deity has to 
have paladin levels to grant paladin spells. Does this mean 
my paladin of Helm (from the FORGOTTEN REALMS 
setting) doesn’t get any spells because Helm has no 
paladin levels? 
 A divine spellcaster can cast spells even when he has no 
deity. A worshiper who cannot get spells directly from the 
deity is obliged to tap some other source. Your paladin of 
Helm has the same spellcasting abilities any other paladin 
has. Exactly where those spells come from is a matter for you 
and your DM to resolve. 
 
 The heartwarder prestige class (from Faiths and 
Pantheons) has the Spell Focus (Enchantment) feat as a 
prerequisite, yet at 6th level, a heartwarder gets the voice 
of a siren ability, which works as the Spell Focus 
(Enchantment) feat on spells with a verbal component. If 
this is correct, the voice of a siren ability is no benefit at 
all. 
 This is a typo; the voice of a siren ability gives you the 
Greater Spell Focus (Enchantment) feat and the Spell 
Penetration feat, but they apply only to spells with a verbal 
component. 
 
 Let’s say I have a 5th-level cleric of Bane with the Law 
and Hatred domains, and I wanted to take the ocular 
adept prestige class (from Faiths and Pantheons). An 
ocular adept loses her spellcasting abilities (including her 
domains), but then, after getting the eyeball implanted, 
she is treated as if she changed her patron to the Great 
Mother. After this, my character gets to choose two 
domains (say Strength and Hatred). Now she’s a cleric 
5/ocular adept 1. How many domains does my character 
have? Since she’s a cleric changing deities, she gets to 
choose two new domains for being a cleric, right? Does 
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she also get two more domains for being an ocular adept? 
Do I use the ocular adept levels to determine the effect of 
the granted powers of the character’s domains, the cleric 
level, the combined levels, or whichever is higher? What 
happens if I choose the same domain for each class (such 
as Law for both)? Do the domain powers stack? Can I 
continue to increase the character’s cleric level after 
becoming an ocular adept? 
 If you’re a cleric of a deity other than the Great Mother 
when you add a level of ocular adept, you renounce your old 
patron deity and therefore lose your old domains and domain 
powers. As soon as you have the surgery that the ocular adept 
class requires, you adopt the Great Mother as your new deity 
and replace your old domains and domain powers with two 
new ones chosen from the domains listed on page 200 of 
Faiths and Pantheons. This is just like the process any other 
cleric uses when changing deities; having the surgery fulfills 
the requirement of completing a quest for the new deity (see 
Changing Deities on page 233 of the FORGOTTEN REALMS 
Campaign Setting). In any case, you choose only two 
domains, and these serve for both your cleric class and your 
ocular adept class. 
 Your cleric spells and granted powers use your cleric level 
to determine spell and power effects, while your ocular adept 
spells use your ocular adept levels. You have domain slots for 
each of your ocular adept spell levels, but you do not get any 
extra domain powers, and your ocular adept levels do not 
affect your domain powers in any way. 
 You can add cleric levels after becoming an ocular adept, 
just as any other multiclass cleric can, except that now you 
are a cleric of the Great Mother. 
 
 What happens when a cleric gets a domain spell that 
normally is an arcane spell? For example, a cleric chooses 
Water as one of his domains and eventually gets the 
ability to cast the horrid wilting spell. Does the spell count 
as an arcane or divine spell? If it’s the former, does the 
cleric have an arcane spell failure chance if he casts the 
spell while wearing armor? If the cleric places horrid 
wilting on a scroll, is it an arcane or divine scroll? What if 
the cleric is a multiclass cleric/wizard? Could such a 
character use any scroll with horrid wilting on it? 
 Clerics cast divine spells. Any spell a cleric gets from a 
domain list is a divine spell (as is any spell the character gets 
from the cleric list), no matter what other class lists the spell 
happens to be on. If the cleric makes a scroll and places his 
divine horrid wilting spell on it, it is a divine scroll. 
 Any multiclass spellcaster keeps his spellcasting classes 
separate. A multiclass cleric/wizard casts cleric spells as 
divine spells, which are not subject to arcane spell failure. He 
casts His wizard spells as arcane spells, which are subject to 
arcane spell failure. If the character makes a scroll, he must 
decide if it is an arcane scroll or a divine scroll. If the 
character picks up a scroll, he uses it as a wizard of His 
wizard level if the scroll is an arcane scroll. The example 
character probably could use an arcane horrid wilting scroll, 
but not if he was a specialist and had Necromancy as a 
prohibited school. The example character could use a divine 
horrid wilting scroll, as could any other divine caster who 
somehow had horrid wilting on his class spell list. 
 


